Thursday Quotables: Fifty Words For Rain

Thank you Lisa for hosting this great meme!

Welcome to Thursday Quotable! This feature is the place to highlight a great quote, line, or passage discovered during your reading each week.  Whether it’s something funny, startling, gut-wrenching, or just really beautifully written, Thursday Quotable is where my favorite lines will be, and you’re invited to join in!

Fifty Words for Rain: A Novel by [Asha Lemmie]

She looks up at him, and never have I seen such an expression. It is one of pure and utter idolatry. It is too absolute to call it love. Love can be weakened by time or forgotten for the sake of another. Love can disappear, without a cause or an explanation, like a thief crept in and stole it in the night. But what she wears on her face for him now cannot disappear and cannot die. He responds by patting her absently on the top of her soaking-wet head, like one might pet a puppy.

Nori smiled. “I know, Oniichan. I know about the rainy season, tsuyu, and I know what the poets say.” Akira frowned. “Poets? What are you on about?” Nori looked away from the scrutiny in his gaze. “They say there’s fifty words for rain. One for each and every kind you can imagine.”

I feel this life is Sorrowful and unbearable Though I cannot flee away Since I am not a bird.

The orchestra slipped away from her, and she hastened to catch them. The sound of the flute pierced her to the heart. Is this what it feels like? Is this what Akira always feels like? To be in the middle of such a sound? She opened her eyes. There was a different sound now, entirely unfamiliar. It was applause. Thunderous applause.

I’d love to see some of your favorite quotes!

Leave a comment